Ultimate Matchmaker 

Ultimate Matchmaker

I’m moving fast and sweating bullets trying to catch my flight to sunny South Florida. My vacation has officially begun, and of course I get stuck in the TSA line for a whole 30 minutes throwing off my plan to board the plane early and relax. I’m rushing to the gate, and when I get there, the flight attendants haven’t even made the announcement to board “those who need assistance.”

As I’m standing in line waiting for my zone to be called, I see a cute, athletic-looking guy. Immediately, I check him out, from top to bottom, and notice that this guy isn’t some random guy. Nope, he’s a football player for a team who just won a National Championship. So, he boards the plane before me, and I start thinking “Wouldn’t it be funny if we ended up sitting together?”

Well, the joke was on me because we most definitely sat together.

At this point, I’m just praying to God that I : a) don’t do anything embarrassing, b) don’t have broccoli stuck in my teeth, and c) that my baby hair is just as laid as it was when I walked out of the house.
I sit down, take a deep breath, and pray. Pray away my awkwardness, pray for discernment and wisdom, and of course pray for a safe flight.

After we get settled into our seats, he sparks up a conversation. We talked during the whole flight. An hour and a half later, the plane lands, he helps me carry my luggage to my car, and then we go our separate ways.

Now, you may be thinking: Did he ask for your number? Did you guys ever see each other again? Are you guys together now?

The answer to all of those questions is No. However, I did walk away with something better than a new contact number.

I walked away with the reminder that God is the ultimate matchmaker.

He has a plan and purpose for everything, and nothing happens by accident or coincidence. (Like seriously, what was the likelihood of me and that guy sitting next to each other on the plane. If God wanted to, He definitely could’ve made something shake!)

This story does not have the ideal happily ever after. I didn’t meet my Prince Charming. But, I was reassured that my man of God is getting prepared for me, just like I’m getting prepared for him. The Lord knows every single detail of my love story, including yours.

To my single friend who is tired of being alone. Frustrated with all of your failed relationships. Awkwardly third-wheeling with your best friend and her man. Wondering when it’s going to be your turn. Know that God has not forgotten about you and that He knows who and what you need in your life. Daddy always knows best. He won’t be sending you a man who is constantly chasing after women and money and isn’t chasing after Him. So just rest. Rest believing that our Ultimate Matchmaker is going to set us up on the most amazing blind date. It may not be how we imagined. It may not be when, but I’m sure that when the time comes it will be the beginning of an amazing love story that we could have never written ourselves.

Scriptures

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV)

“I want you to be free from the concerns of this life. An unmarried man can spend his time doing the Lord’s work and thinking how to please him…In the same way, a woman who is no longer married or has never been married can be devoted to the Lord and holy in body and in spirit. But a married woman has to think about her earthly responsibilities and how to please her husband. I am saying this for your benefit, not to place restrictions on you. I want you to do whatever will help you serve the Lord best, with as few distractions as possible.” – 1 Corinthians  7: 32 & 34-35 (NLT)

“Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?” – 2 Corinthians 6: 14 (ESV) 

Leave a Reply

