Redeemed

Forty (1)

“And you know what, I have peace knowing that God is in control, not me. I have choices and decisions to make, and at times I might not always make the best ones but God is a redeemer. He can turn anything around…” — a journal entry excerpt.

Redeem(verb): to compensate for the faults or bad aspects of (something); to buy or pay off; clear by payment; to make (something that is bad, unpleasant, etc.) better or more acceptable; to free from what distresses or harms.

God is a redeemer.

For a long time I would hear sayings like: “God is redeemer.” or “You are redeemed,” but I never understood what they meant. I never understood how redemption and God were related to each other until I read this scripture:

“In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.” – Ephesians 1: 7&8 (NIV)

Jesus Christ bought back our lives when He gave up his. He bought back our lives, which we lost to sin, and gave us a life full of forgiveness and promise.

Referring to my journal entry, I have made and still make a lot of mistakes – some being the worst decisions of my life. However, every decision I make and every sin I commit is no surprise to God. Nothing I do, say, or think is a surprise to Him, and the same goes for you. This is true not only because he is omniscient (all-knowing), but because we are humans who will never be perfect.

We will inevitably make decisions that aren’t the best and can have outcomes that turn out to be a hot mess. But, praise God that He can come into our lives and change a situation.

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” – Romans 8:28 (NASB)

“As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good in order to bring about this present result, to preserve many people alive.” – Genesis 50:20 (NASB)

As redeemed children of the Lord, we are no longer chained to the mistakes of our past. We no longer have to live in fear of our future mistakes. The blood Jesus shed for us was payment for our sins. God’s love is what has redeemed us.  

Leave a Reply

