A New Year Reminder: Life’s a Journey

“For everything there is a season, a time for every activity…A time to cry and a time to laugh. A time to grieve and a time to dance.” – Ecclesiates 3:1 &4 (NLT)

Just like there are seasons in a year, there are seasons in life – some great and some not so great. However, all of those seasons have purpose. Each season that God has us in whether it’s a season of loneliness, prosperity, complete contentment, etc. – those seasons are meant to change us, push us, prune us, and help us grow.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

As a young adult, I focus a lot on learning more about myself, figuring out what I want to do after college, knowing my purpose, and being who[ever] God has called me to be (which I still don’t know, yet). Sometimes, I focus so much on where I need to be or where I think I should be, that I don’t take the time to stop and see how far I’ve come and how much I’ve grown as a young woman.

It’s time for us, you and I, to celebrate the growth we’ve made in every part of our lives. Looking back at where I was last year, I know that I have grown and changed a lot. Even when it seems like you’re not making any progress or like you take one step forward just be pushed two steps back, remember that every day is a new day and that God is working on your behalf. He’s setting you up for something major.

When we have goals and dreams in mind, we tend to focus more on our destination than our journey. In a world where everything can be cooked, paid for, documented, and researched with a push of a button, it’s easy to want everything in life to be that way — quick. We really don’t like waiting for anything. We don’t like waiting in fast-food restaurant drive-thrus. We don’t like waiting for our bodies to look as fit as we’d want them to, even though we just started a workout plan the day before.  We don’t like processes or steps. We like quick results. But, life doesn’t always work like that, and neither does God.

Times of waiting are times when God is testing our faithfulness to Him. When we’re waiting for our prayers to be answered and God’s promises to be fulfilled, we should build our faith and know that God’s got us. Because we put our trust in the Lord, we should pray and praise Him always, especially when we get weary and discouraged.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” – James 1:2-4 (NLT)

So! Be encouraged and celebrate. Celebrate the good, the bad, and the ugly. Celebrate big victories and small setbacks. Reflect back a year ago or even six months ago, and see how much things have changed. Look at how much you’ve grown! And of course as you grow and move forward in life, the Devil will use people and events to remind you of “back then.” But, don’t mind the Devil and his schemes. You are destined for greatness.

Remember that you are not working on yourself by yourself. God is working within you. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself to be who you think you should be. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself to accomplish every goal you set.  At the end of the day, He is the One who will have the final say so for your life. You only need to enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

