Peace in the Midst of Chaos

532823_394922773879343_1068812056_n

The past few days have been…. an experience. Life has been hectic and stressful, and I find myself tired all the time. I just got back from a family vacation/ birthday trip in D.C.. While I was there, I got a chance to meet up with a friend. The whole time we were together I was extremely quiet. While she was talking, my spirit was moving and being fed. We began talking about peace, and I knew that God was speaking to me through her!

The other day I realized that I wasn’t completely at peace, and it was beginning to take a toll on me. Life isn’t easy or fair, nor is it predictable or controllable! So I began to think: “Okayyyy. How can I find peace in the midst of this “chaos” that’s occurring in my life?!”
I began to pray, read different books and the Bible, and blast my Will Reagan and United Pursuit CD.
During this time, God revealed to me that if I run to him for comfort He will comfort me and rest my spirit.

“I am leaving you with a gift– peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid.” – John 14:27 (NLT)

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:6-7 (NLT)

When life seems hectic and messy, just take a moment to be still. Sit in silence and breathe. Talk to God and listen to the Holy Spirit within you. It’s so easy to get caught up and overwhelmed with life. But that’s not God’s will, and because He isn’t the author of chaos and confusion he will fulfill his promises. Psalm 29:11 says, “The Lord gives his people strength. The Lord blesses them with peace.”

“Submit to God, and you will have peace; then things will go well for you.” – Job 22:21 (NLT)

From reading these scriptures, I was encouraged to not stress out and worry so much, so I would like to encourage you to do the same. Without peace within, life will seem unbearable and crazy. You will get overwhelmed and want to quit. But, that’s no way to live. You should never give up. Instead, take a moment to just pray and talk to God about what’s happening in your life. Jesus is a “Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting  Father, [and the] Prince of Peace” (Isaiah 9:6 NLT). So why wouldn’t we go to Him first when the storm continues to rage, and we so desperately need peace to push through?!

One thought on “Peace in the Midst of Chaos

Leave a Reply

